Close this search box.

History of Sailability WA

Sailability WA started in UK in the 1980’s and has grown to be a global phenomenon with over 50 groups operating in Australia since 1991.

Sailability WA was established at Royal Perth Yacht Club following the success at the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games in the Sonar class keelboat. Noel Robbins, Jamie Dunross and Graeme Martin won the gold medal, establishing a legacy of success for Sailability WA.

Where it began

In 2008 at the Beijing Paralympics, success struck again when Rachael Cox won a silver medal in the Skud 18 class. Colin Harrison, Graeme Martin and Russell Boaden secured bronze in the Sonar class. Four of the six Australian sailors competing in the 2008 Paralympics were members of Sailability WA. 

Colin Harrison, Russell Boaden and Jonathan Harris were victorious at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, securing the gold medal in convincing fashion. 

In addition, Sailability WA members have seen success on the local, State, National and International stage, with many beginning their journey at the entry level of the pathway.


Sailability WA has also partnered with supporting Club, Royal Perth Yacht Club to host some major events, including welcoming sailors from 15 nations for the IFDS – (International Federation of Disabled Sailors) World Championships in January 2006.

The ongoing success of the advanced sailing participants is something in which Sailability WA is justifiably proud. However, the benefits experienced and opportunities provided to participants in all programs, are just as important.

Need more information

Where to from here?